U.S. Equestrian Teams Announced for Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020

The Summer Olympic Games, first held in 1896, is an international multi-sport event that is hosted by a different city every four years. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) organizes the games and oversees the host city’s preparations, with support from each individual sport’s International Federation (IF). In each Olympic event, gold medals are awarded for first place, silver medals are awarded for second place, and bronze medals are awarded for third; this tradition began in 1904. The Summer Paralympic Games is also awarded to the same city that hosts the Summer Olympic Games. The Summer Olympic Games include the disciplines of Dressage, Eventing and Jumping, while the Summer Paralympic Games include the discipline of Para-Dressage. Equestrian remains one of the only sports in which men and women compete as equals in all events.

The United States has hosted four Summer Olympics (1904, 1932, 1984, 1996). The United States also leads the all-time medal table. In 1964, when women were first permitted to compete in Olympic eventing, the U.S. fielded the first eventing team to include a woman, Lana DuPont, who contributed to a Team Silver medal-win. The U.S. has also fielded teams in each of the Paralympic Games since para-dressage’s inception at the Atlanta 1996 Olympic Games, capturing four Individual medals.

The Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 will take place across the city of Tokyo, Japan, with equestrian competition held at Equestrian Park in Setagaya-ku. This is the same legacy venue that was used for equestrian competition at the 1964 Olympic Games. Equestrian competititon will begin on July 24 and continue through August 7.


You will find all you need to know here.

Comments are closed.